Saturday, June 2, 2012

Australian Government

MS/PhD Degree

Deadline: Mar-June 2012 (annual)
Study in:  Australia
Course starts 2012 Intake

Brief description:

The Australian Leadership Awards (ALA) Scholarships are supplementary to the Australian Development Scholarships (ADS).

Only 200 ALA Scholarships are available globally on an annual basis. Therefore, selection for an ALA Scholarship is highly competitive. It is based on a candidate’s professional and personal qualities, academic achievement and, most importantly, their commitment to contribute to development outcomes for their country and region.

Awardees undertake a Leadership for Development Program which provides opportunities to enhance leadership capacity and extend networks while the Scholars are in Australia.

Host Institution(s):

See the list of Participating institutions in Australia

Field and Level of study:

Only applicants applying to undertake a postgraduate course (Masters or PhD) are eligible to be considered for the supplementary ALA.

Study programs must relate to your country’s priority areas for development.  These are listed on the participating country profiles. AusAID Development Awards are not available for training in areas related to flying aircrafts, nuclear technology or military training.

Target group:

You are only eligible for ADS and ALA if you are a citizen of one of the countries listed below:


Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Indonesia, India, Laos, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam


Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Pacific Collectivities (New Caledonia, French Polynesia, and Wallis and Futuna), Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue and Tokelau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu


Angola, Algeria, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia

Middle East

Iraq, Palestinian Territories

Caribbean Countries

Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago

Latin America

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela

Scholarship value/inclusions:

In addition to receiving the ADS entitlements, the selected ALA scholars will undertake a Leadership for Development Program while they are in Australia. The purpose of this Program is to enhance the ability and confidence of participating scholars to lead action on development reform in their own country.

ALA Scholars are provided with further opportunities and activities, beyond their postgraduate studies, to enhance their leadership knowledge and extend their networks through a national Leadership for Development Conference and other tailored activities.


Where English is not the first language, Posts must ensure that candidates for the supplementary ALA have achieved one of the following test results before recommending them to the Interdepartmental Selection Panel in Canberra (i.e. before 8 August), irrespective of whether the English language requirements for the course of study is lower:

a. an IELTS Academic Test with a score of at least 6.5 (with no band less than 6)
b. a TOEFL paper-based test score of at least 580
c. a TOEFL computer-based test score of at least 237
d. a TOEFL Internet-based (iBT) score of at least 92

Selection for the prestigious Australian Leadership Awards (ALA) is highly competitive. It is based on leadership qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, the potential for the candidate to influence development outcomes in their home country.

Application instructions:

There is not a separate application form for the supplementary ALA. Applicants who are interested in being considered for the ALA should indicate their interest on the Scholarship Application Form for ADS. Alternatively, if the applicant receives an invitation to attend an interview, they may use that opportunity to indicate their interest in the ALA.

You must read the Australian Leadership Awards Scholarships Handbook (link found below) carefully before filling in an application.  Make sure you meet the eligibility requirements and that you have all the required supporting documentation. AusAID will not consider ineligible or incomplete applications.

Applications for the 2012 intake varies per country but is around  Mar-June 2012.

It is important to visit the website of Australian embassy/commission in your country and the official scholarship website (links found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

Contact information:

See this link for the addresses of Australian Embassies, High Commissions or their Managing Contractors.   Also visit the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)


Official Scholarship Website:

No comments:

Post a Comment